top of page
  • Writer's pictureabbiephillips1

SPOTLIGHT - Stephanie Hans

For my next project, I am making a costume for the character Clea from Marvel's Doctor Strange comics. Whilst doing research on her previous costumes, I discovered the work of Stephanie Hans, and I thought that she would be perfect for my next Spotlight Post!



Stephanie Hans is a French comic cover artist and illustrator who has worked with Marvel, DC Comics, Image Comics, Dark Horse, Valiant, Dynamite, Vertigo and Boom Studios. Her art style is inspired by the likes of classical painters such as Le Caravage and John William Waterhouse.


Hans entered the Ecole des Arts Decoratits de Strasbourg on an illustration course. When she graduated, she looked around for her first publisher and came across Emmanuel Proust at a children's book convention. Together, they published a couple of graphic novels, leading to her being discovered by an art director from Hatchette. Hans drew covers for young adult books until she was able to show her work to a talent scout at Marvel.


Hans is the artist that created the modern-looking Clea that I would like to use as inspiration for my Clea costume so that it fits with the aesthetic of the MCU. Hans drew Clea in the Fearless Defenders series.


I think that she has a very interesting style and can find really clever ways of filling up space on the cover that is both relevant and aesthetically pleasing. Here are a few examples of her work:



What do you think of her work?

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page